Security Information System

News and Events

The 27th Session of the Asia-Pacific Regional Space Agency Forum (APRSAF-27)

Update by Webadmin 2021-12-09 04:11:03

On 30 November 2021, AFSIS Secretariat had attended the 27th session of the Asia-Pacific Regional Space Agency Forum (APRSAF-27) which was co-organized by Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology (VAST) with Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) of Japan, and Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA).

Prior to the plenary sessions which will be held on 2 and 3 December, there are the 5 working group sessions holding in parallel on 30 November and 1 December. The working group session including 1) Satellite Applications for Societal Benefit Working Group (SAWG) 2) Enhancement of Space Capability Working Group (SCWG) 3) Space Frontier Working Group (SFWG) 4) Kibo-ABC Workshop 5) Space Education for All Working Group (SE4AWG).

During Satellite Applications for Societal Benefit Working Group (SAWG), Dr. Waraporn Saelee, AFSIS Manager, had delivered the presentation regarding AFSIS Rice Growing Outlook (RGO) activities and collaboration related to remote sensing technologies with RESTEC, JAXA, and ISRO. The Meeting acknowledged the agreement to have the hands-on training for rice mapping using (cloud-based) platform in collaboration with AFSIS and ISRO in the future. Also, Dr. Waraporn had stated to the Working Group of the importance and possibility to use the satellite data as it can be applied together with the survey data by the ASEAN Member States to create more accurate and precise data for the AFSIS Early Warning Information Report in the future.

The objectives of this SAWG session is to contribute to common regional issues in the Asia-Pacific Region using space technology, in particular, Earth Observation Satellites and to establish and strengthen the cooperative framework between space agencies and stakeholders, including end-users such as AFSIS and development aid agencies, in a sustainable way.

Recent Article

Typhoon Rai (Odette) in Philippines

According to the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC), the areas most affected by Typhoon Odette were Northeastern Mindanao, Western Visayas, Central Visayas, and Palawan. Officials in the provinces of Cebu, Guimaras and Bohol-municipality of Jose Panganiban, Camarines Norte, along with 12 cities and municipalities in Caraga region also declared a state of calamity. Moreover, the damaged area covers in the regions of Calabarzon, Bicol, Western Visayas, central Visayas, Eastern Visayas, Soccsksargen, Davao, and Caraga. These include Mimaropa (Region 4B), Western Visayas (Region 6), Central Visayas (Region 7), Eastern Visayas (Region 8), Northern Mindanao (Region 10), Davao (Region 11), Caraga (Region 13), and Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM). In result, the storm destroyed various government facilities, flood control projects, roads, bridges and other infrastructures which amounted to PHP 225,170,000 as well as various agricultural products worth PHP 118,284,774.

Read More >

The Wrap-up Meeting as A Part of SAS-PSA Project in Lao PDR

On 21 December 2021, AFSIS Secretariat, together with the Center for Agricultural Statistic (CAS) Department of Planning and Finance (DOPF), Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry (MAF) of Lao PDR had jointly conducted the Wrap-up meeting as a part of Project for Supporting Agricultural Survey on Promoting Sustainable Agriculture or the SAS-PSA project in Lao PDR. The meeting was held via an online platform due to the COVID-19 pandemic situation.

Read More >

Flooding and Landslide in West Nusa Tenggara Indonesia

Flooding and landslide in West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia occurred on December 5th-6th, 2021. The affected areas that were damaged in West Lombok districts are Batu Layar sub-district (3 villages), Gunung Sari sub-district (11 villages), and Lingsar sub-district (1 village). Besides, the areas that were damaged in Bima City are Mpunda sub-district (2 villages), Raba sub-district (3 villages), Asakota sub-district (3 villages), and East Rasanae sub-district (1 village).

Read More >

Mount Semeru Eruption

Mount Semeru in East Java province erupted on December 4th, 2021. The affected areas are located in 2 districts in East Java province namely, Lumajang and Malang. The areas that were damaged are located in 2 sub-districts in Lumajang, while 1 sub-district in Malang (Jabung sub-district) was only exposed to volcanic ash with no other damages. Moreover, quite severe damages had occurred in Pronojiwo sub-district (villages: Supiturang, Oro-Oro Ombo, Sumberurip) and Candipuro sub-district (villages: Sumberwuluh and Sumbermujur). These 2 sub-districts are in Lumajang district which is one of the rice-producers in East Java province, including the top 10 rice production centers of East Java.

Read More >

Visitor Info 84551 | Today 31 | Yesterday 131 | This week 984 | This Month 1808 | Total 84551

Copyright 2017. ASEAN Plus Three
Food Security Information System Rights Reserved.